Day 2 swimming lesson 2- Progress

image

So today went well. And I made really good progress! 🙂 When I had swimming lessons before the furthest I got was kicking off a back wall and trying to join up kicking my legs and moving my arms at the same time. And I had the swimming tutor in the water with me as a safety net. Well as you know, I didn’t get any further than that and I wasn’t actually very comfortable in the water or my ability to float.

Today started with more drills. The hardest one was basically holding myself in ball with my arms around my knees for 5 seconds. Oh under water. I get that I need to be able to feel comfortable with the movement of the water and also that I can float in the water and breathe. All of which blows
my non- swimmers mind. I tried my best even if my impudent instructor said that he would scream if I put my foot on the ground again. To which I replied it was almost worth doing then just to see if he would! This exercise was followed by floating like an arrow on the water. Easier said than done. But I managed.

But here comes the good part. 🙂 I was asked to stand 3 meters away from the edge of the pool, put my hands in front of me, kick off and float until I reached the edge of the pool. This used to be a terrifying thought for me- having nothing to hold on to, just launching myself into the water. But I have more confidence in my ability, plus I know that I need to stop thinking and just do as the instructor asks (read tells). And
I was able to do it. Multiple times! The second time I went back 5 metres and had to kick my legs, all the while keeping my face in the water until I reached the same edge. 5 metres felt quite a big distance away and my instructor even further. But I just did it! Writing it down may make it seem like a small gain but I know how scared I was before and that this is great progress for me. So I’m very pleased with today and the progress I’ve made.:-)

Leave a Reply

