Lovely, lovely, Livia.

This post is dedicated to my friend Livia.


I have known Livia since I was 11 years old and we were in the same form group- the B’s.  I can’t remember exactly how I became friends with her at school but we did. We lived close to each other in Islington, and I remember visiting her lovely parent’s house; having a crush on her cousin; us going to the cinema; sleeping at her house; her cutting the knots out of my hair and then under my encouragement, cutting my very long hair to my chin! How her parents didn’t kill her with the amount of hair in the bathroom I don’t know.

A very promising friendship. But as the story goes- we fell out, I took a book of hers and denied taking it. I can’t even remember why but probably because I envied her and the book. I have always thought Livia pretty and remember watching her blow dry with ease her gorgeous bitter chocolate hair; later as a teenager when I first saw her with make up on I remember how grown up and sophisticated she looked.  We went on a school trip to Belgium and with a confidence that would not dim with age, from the start she was talking to the boys on the coach, at an age when we would all giggle hysterically about anything to do with the opposite sex. She stayed in touch with those boys and I believe they visited her in the UK when she was 18.

Many years passed as we went our separate ways to different colleges (hers I now work in occasionally) and on to university. In 2009 I moved to Finsbury Park and I had a housewarming. Livia came to that party and it was as if all those years had melted away. We became fast friends again and her friendship is truly very special. I say this because Livia is one of the most giving women I know; she is naturally optimistic and filled with ideas, plans and energy. Anyone that gets to know her will recognise that she is very easy to be around and easy to talk to. She is also a very gifted cook; artist and photographer; and she never stops encouraging people to be the best they can be. 
Livia is a Gemini and I have always got on well with Gemini’s, we have in common a lively intellect and a need to challenge to the norms; we’re both open and love talking. I love the fact that even if I don’t see her for a month or two at a time, when we meet, it is as if I saw her yesterday- because she truly listens. I write this post because I cannot underestimate how important it is to recognise those that enrich our lives with their friendship, time and love. So today I am thankful for Livia: thank you for being you.

And I set you a challenge: Who in your life do you want to say a huge thank you to? In the next 24 hours tell them. It can be as simple as a text or you could send them a card/ letter/ postcard. Whatever it is, they will be thankful! (Livia will understand why I wrote a blog post). Tell them how they make your life great! I look forward to hearing about it.


If you are now intrigued about Livia, you can check out her artwork here: http://www.liviapalmiero.com/

Leave a Reply

